Skip to content

Baylor baseball

Baylor baseball to face 9 tournament teams – Waco Tribune-Herald

Posted: Wednesday, November 20, 2013 12:01 am | Updated: 1:00 am, Wed Nov 20, 2013.

9 tournament teams

The Baylor baseball team figures to challenge itself against some top competition in the 2014 season, as the Bears will play nine NCAA tournament teams from last year, including three Super Regional qualifiers.

Baylor’s schedule, which was released Tuesday, features 30 home games among its 54-game slate. The Bears will open the season Feb. 14-16 at Arizona State in Tempe, Ariz., before returning to Baylor Ballpark for a six-game homestand that includes a three-game series with Austin Peay, an NCAA tourney team from last year.

Baylor will also travel to San Diego, Calif., for games against Cal and San Diego Feb. 28-March 2. The Bears host traditional power Cal State Fullerton March 7-9.

In Big 12 play, the Bears will host series against Texas Tech, Oklahoma State, Kansas and TCU. Baylor will face West Virginia, Texas, Kansas State and Oklahoma on the road.

The Big 12 tournament is set for May 21-25 at Bricktown Ballpark in Oklahoma City.

Posted in on Wednesday, November 20, 2013 12:01 am. Updated: 1:00 am.