≡ Menu

Berdetta Hodge is apparent winner of third Tempe Union school board seat

A former PTA president at three different schools is a new member of the Tempe Union High School District governing board.

Berdetta Hodge of Tempe defeated Ahwatukee businessman Scott Ryan with 15.7 percent of the vote to his 15.3 percent, according to unofficial results.

Hodge will join incumbents Sandy Lowe and Michelle Helm, who clinched new terms in the Nov. 8 election with 19.3 percent and 23.5 percent of the vote, respectively.

A question had been raised as to a possible recount between Hodge and Ryan, but a spokeswoman for the county recorder's office said it would not order one.

A Tempe resident for 35 years, Hodge has one child in McClintock High and another who graduated from there.

The Arizona State University graduate has been a Hope's Crossing board member, a PTA president in three different schools and a booster club member.

She is on the board of the Booker T. Washington Child Development Center, and is a site council member and a volunteer for the Boys and Girls Club of the East Valley Ladmo Branch.

When asked early in the campaign why she was running, she replied:

"As a Tempe Union High School District graduate, involved community member and parent, I have experienced and witnessed the positive growth of our district and the substantial impact it has had on both our students and community."

"I want to give back to the district that has not only enriched my life, but has also left an everlasting fingerprint on our community," she added.

In discussing issues facing the district, she said, ""I believe that the single most important issue that the district currently faces is ensuring that we maintain adequate funding to sustain smaller class sizes as well as hire and retain highly-qualified, passionate teachers.

"Quite honestly, I believe that our district is on a sustainable path for success, providing and delivering the highest quality of service," she continued. "As a board member, I will work diligently so that we continue being among the top 5 percent of districts in the State of Arizona."

New board members will take office in early January.

Comments on this entry are closed.